The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

Balance.

Leave a comment

Week 8 | +5 lbs

Finding the right balance between my work, active life and pregnancy has been my greatest challenge so far over the past few weeks.  Being the sole person to manage the accounting, facilities, human resources, scheduling, website and everything else in between at my yoga studio, Sacred Sounds Yoga, has proven to be a formidable task recently.  I am, sometimes, amazed that I was able to work 90+ hours a week, opening and closing the studio everyday, when we first opened, when I can barely keep my eyes open most afternoons these days.  In addition to planning our classes and events for the new year and renovating our facilities, we celebrated our 2-year anniversary with a huge event a week and a half ago!

Sacred Sounds Yoga's 2-Year Anniversary Party, 12/7/13

Sacred Sounds Yoga’s 2-Year Anniversary Party, 12/7/13

Aside from being busy at work, I’ve also just started training for the Delaware Marathon with The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society (LLS)’s Team In Training (TNT).  I had injured my left knee during the Lehigh Valley Health Network Via Marathon in September,  which forced me to cancel the marathons I had registered for in October and November, so my physical activity has consisted entirely of cycling, yoga and physical therapy.  I was overjoyed when I completed our first official Group Training Session (GTS) of the season, a slow 3-mile run, earlier this month without any pain, and pleased to know that physical activity continues to boost my endorphins–I still finish feeling significantly better than I start!

Team In Training - Brooklyn Chapter's First Group Training Session, 12/7/2013

Team In Training – Brooklyn Chapter’s First Group Training Session, 12/7/2013

The most challenging part of training has been the new pregnancy-related pains.  The most noticeable physical difference is that my breasts have swelled and become extremely painful to the touch. Running can be truly uncomfortable for this reason initially, but I am able to focus on my surroundings more and less on my body after a mile or so. The second issue that has come up is the need to pee frequently. As someone who slept through the night pre-pregnancy, I now wake up three times some nights!  According to BabyCenter, hormonal changes cause blood to flow more quickly through a pregnant woman’s kidneys, filling the bladder more often.  Pregnant women produce 50% more blood over the course of the pregnancy, which means a lot more extra fluid. The need to pee will only worsen over the course of the pregnancy, of course–I wonder if this means I should plan to stop at every port-a-potty on marathon day.  A third problem that has affected me is that I now always feel cold no matter how many layers I wear, which, I learned, has to do with the fact that a pregnant body is warmer–it’s a dramatic change considering I formerly wore sleeveless shirts through the winter.  These cold months training outside will certainly feel even colder now!

Aid Station during the JFK 50-Mile Ultramarathon, 11/17/2012

Aid Station during the JFK 50-Mile Ultramarathon, 11/17/2012

How long will it take for me to determine how to balance my work and active life with the changes that will continue to occur in my pregnant body? Will I be able to do so? Only time will tell.

Month 2 Belly Photo, 12/15/13

Month 2 Belly Photo, 12/15/13

Week 7 (12/8-15) training: 9 miles

Sunday: Rest
Monday: Spin
Tuesday: Rest
Wednesday:  Rest
Thursday: 4 miles
Friday: Yoga
Saturday: 5 miles

 

Author: pregnantathlete

My name is Stephanie, and I was born and still live in New York City. I'm an avid distance runner, cyclist, snowboarder, swimmer and yogini (though I'm taking a break from some of these activities right now). It just so happens my active interests feed my love of food and traveling too! Oh! And did I mention that I'm pregnant...again? I also own a yoga studio, Sacred Sounds Yoga, in lower Manhattan. We offer classes in array of styles, including vinyasa, yin, Mysore ashtanga and Unnata Aerial Yoga. We also have prenatal, postnatal and kids yoga classes too!

Leave a Reply

